About us

About Us

ACTA is made up of a dedicated committee of experienced managers and leaders from across the nation, working together to help the community transport sector.

The Australian Community Transport Association (ACTA) was founded in February 2011 comprising representatives from QLD, NSW & Victoria with a view to providing a national voice for community transport sector on a national level.

In 2015, ACTA produced two significant reports – National Fees Policy and Sustainable National Funding Model which were used to develop relationships and partnerships with Government.

Since this time, ACTA has been working consistently to improve community transport services for the nation.

We ask that you contact ACTA with feedback about the sector info@communitytransport.net.au

ACTA’s purpose:

  • Provide a forum for the State Associations and the State Representatives to meet and to discuss matters of mutual interest;
  • Represent Community Transport providers within Australia;
  • Make representations to Government, Non-Government and the private sector on behalf of its membership;
  • Provide information and support to its community transport providers in Australia;
  • Develop policy and standards that promote best practice in community transport organisations;
  • Promote Community Transport issues within throughout Australia
  • Build a strong membership base to generate income and political influence.


Supporting community transport in Victoria and Tasmania.


Supporting community transport in NSW


Supporting community transport in Tasmania.


Supporting community transport in South Australia & Northern Territory


ACTA's Governance consists of experienced community transport sector leaders and high-level management. Working together to embrace all issues within the industry, problem-solving to bring out the best outcomes for the sustainability of the sector.

Lyndon Stevenson


Lyndon Stevenson is the current Chair of the national peak body for community transport in Australia (ACTA), a position Lyndon has held since May 2018.  Prior to taking on the role of Chair Lyndon was appointed to the Board of ACTA in 2015.  Lyndon also currently holds the Office of Vice Chair of the Victorian & Tasmania peak body (VCTA); since 2016.

Lyndon is the CEO of Community Transport Services Tasmania Inc (CTST). CTST has a proud history of delivering community transport services across Tasmania, and more recently has diversified its services to encompass regional public transport; directly assisting people to access the labour market and the greater community under the brand of Area Connect.

CTST manages a fleet of 80+ vehicles, employs over 40 staff, and has a pool of around 450 volunteers.  The service is delivered across Tasmania, recently expanding to Flinders Island in the state’s far North East.

Lyndon has extensive experience in the community services industry and has held several senior management and senior executive positions within the youth, employment and training sectors. Prior to his appointment as CEO with CTST in 2015, Lyndon held the position of Chief Operating Officer / Deputy CEO of a large youth charity covering Victoria, Tasmania, Western Australia, South Australia and New South Wales.

Away from the office, Lyndon enjoys spending time with his wife and children, fishing, cycling, and tendering to his small hobby farm in the Huon Valley, Tasmania where he breeds Belted Galloway cattle. Lyndon is very active in his local community and is involved in a range of community activities most notably the President of his local cricket club.

Julie Mason


Julie Mason has been the Regional Manager of Yorke Peninsula Community Transport (YPCT) for the last 15 years. YPCT is located in regional South Australia and manages 170 volunteers, providing a series of transport options including contracted bus services with the Dept of Planning, Transport & Infrastructure.  Her background is in management, with a strong focus on community capacity building.

Craig Frost


Jim Golden-Brown

Committee Member

Jim Golden-Brown, a descendent from the Yuin Nation on the South Coast of NSW and Kameygal, La Perouse, commenced as Executive Officer, NSWATN in June 2016. Jim was installed as the CEO of NATSIC in October 2016.

Jim brings 30 plus years of senior and executive management experience to NATSIC and the Transport Sector, a strong knowledge of consultation, negotiation, and mediation processes with Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities.

Jo Cochrane


Terry O'Toole

Deputy Chair

Terry brings over 20 year’s experience in leading and managing customer-focused teams to his current position as CEO at TransitCare in Queensland. His  working career has been mostly spent in operational roles and in senior management roles, rebuilding a vast array of different organisations.

Harry Harun


Harry has worked and lived in the Aboriginal community of South Australia for over 30 years.

Harry is the former Chairperson of Aboriginal Community Services (ACS), and has recently taken on the role as the Community Development and Engagement Manager for ACS. Harry was the former  Treasurer of the Aboriginal Prisoner Offender Support Service in SA for 20 years. Recently, he had become a board member of Baptist Care SA and part of an Advisory Council on NDIS for Baptist Care SA.

He has a post-graduate degree in Health and is currently working on his Masters of Aboriginal Health.

With Harry’s vast experience and knowledge on national and state boards, he brings this wealth of experience and knowledge to ACTA.

Graham Mckerchar

Committee Member

Membership Model

Uniting all stakeholders for the sustainability of the community transport sector.

Australian Community Transport Association


State Community Transport Peaks


State Community Transport Providers


Associate Members

Translate »